Baking 101

With the impending move, I’ve gotten on somewhat of a mission of clearing our pantry before we go. And so, I’ve been doing a lot more baking than one would expect of someone with an apartment to pack, gifts to make, and a plane to catch.

Peanut Butter Banana Loaf

Yesterday, I baked this peanut butter banana loaf – and before anyone gets excited, I must say that it is not at all up to scratch yet. I made it because a) we had ripe bananas going nowhere fast, and b) we were out of butter, but not peanut butter. The combo seemed like a lovely idea, but upon tasting it, it tasted more or less like regular banana bread. This could be a good thing, but I really wanted the perfect marriage (such a good combination, right?), so I’m not going to post the recipe until I’m satisfied with this concoction.

Peanut Butter Banana Loaf

On the other hand, I can offer the recipe for the cupcakes that I posted on Saturday. I still haven’t had a chance to ice them (yes, we’re literally slathering cold icing from the fridge on them), but they are delicious and well worth trying.

Without further adieu, here is the recipe that I used to bake Martha’s One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes:

2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/4 cups cocoa powder
2 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 tsp baking powder, salt
3 large eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/4 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 cup warm water

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl; add eggs and mix; add all other ingredients. Bake at 350 F in prelined muffin tin for 20-25 mins, or until knife inserted comes out clean. Let cool before icing.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

