And the livin’ is easy…

A lazy Friday afternoon – too hot to do much, so I’m reading, knitting, and drinking an endless supply of San Pellegrino while we await a thunderstorm. Right now I’m perusing the June pages of Edith Holden’s Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady – a botanical record of the flora and fauna around Warwickshire in England.

The Pond - Westmount Park

Jake and I have had our own botanical adventures recently – perhaps not as refined as Ms Holden’s, however. Hot afternoons we’ve headed over to Westmount Park, one of the loveliest spots in the city for a sit-down, and never crowded.

Sunburst through the Trees - Westmount Park, Montreal

This time, I took my new camera with us and managed to get a few decent shots in. The one above was by far my favourite of the day – a sunburst peaking in amongst the trees. Every other attempt at this shot was thwarted by the breeze, but I was chuffed to capture even one great burst like this.

Loving Henry Green in the Park

I also managed to get a little more of the way through Loving while we were there as well. Knitting did not accompany us for obvious reasons, but I’m happy to say that I’m quite on track to have them finished by next week. I hope that by Wednesday’s yarn-along, I will not only have something new on the needles, but something new in the pages as well.

For now, I think I’ll get back to Ms Holden and see what her July was like, more than a century ago.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the livin’ is easy…

  1. Rain says:

    Oh wow! That sun shot is perfect! Well done. Enjoy the shade!

Leave a Reply

