On the needles – Gravel Grid (Part 2)

JAKE – same as last week.

I should warn you. This is a bit of conversion story. No, not in the way you might think. A conversion within the realm of knitting. For here, today, I must admit: I am officially converted to Magic Loop.

Although I’ve spent the better part of my years of knitting proclaiming my aversion for this method, and the overall superiority of DPNs, I have to be out in the open with my switch. Yes, dpns are more old-fashioned and therefore more up my alley, and yes, I would certainly still use them. I have a bamboo set in every size, so I’m not likely to chuck them away any time soon.

Gravel Grid - Yarn-along 14/06

However, faced with the choice of learning how to do Magic Loop or not knit at all for a week (I was away from home, and only in possession of a 40″ US 1 circular, I decided that some knitting was better than no knitting, and began casting on. Last week at this time I had got very far, but I am just about to cast on the second this afternoon, and I can definitely say now that I will probably knit all future socks with Magic Loop. In fact, I have big plans on learning how to knit two at one time (tried and failed already, but have renewed determination now that I feel comfortable with ML).

The sock that I’ve completed is lovely and snug in all the right places, and if I can get moving on this second one then they’ll make a fabulous gift, I hope.

When it comes to books, this week I’m still reading Henry Green’s Loving. I’m actually really enjoying it, which is completely not apparent in the eight sentences a day I manage to get in. I don’t know why I’m being so slow, but it’s a really great novel – such great dialogue and characterizations. I’ve got to get moving on it, though – in two weeks I fly off to Newfoundland, and I don’t know how the McGill library would like it if I take their books across the country. Hope they won’t revoke my diploma!

Linking up with Ginny for this week’s yarn-along. What do you have on the needles this week?

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the needles – Gravel Grid (Part 2)

  1. Rain says:

    Oh a loathe dpn work! So, must learn this magic loopy thing. thanks for the tip! And your sock is amazing! one day I shall knit my own tights!! 🙂

  2. Rain says:

    That’s “I loathe”…oy!

  3. accountantgrrl says:

    I like magic loop style for almost everything I knit in the round. So much easier than fiddling with dpns. 🙂

Leave a Reply

