On the Needles – Gravel Grid

***
SPOILER ALERT
***

DO NOT KEEP READING IF YOU ARE JAKE.

It’s been a bit quiet around the blogosphere lately. For my own part, I’ve traveled down to Toronto and have only just managed to get started on my new piece of knitting.

The weather has become sudden with summer, and all I really want to do is lounge around in the sun and eat as many strawberries as is humanly possible at the moment. Instead, I’ve begun knitting a pair of socks for my lovely BF’s upcoming birthday. The first pair of socks that I intend to be of worthwhile quality.

Yarn-Along 8/06/2011

The yarn I’ve chosen is a typical wool + nylon sock yarn, and so far I’m quite enamoured with the colour of it. It is just Jake’s style – the white flecks that seemed a bit overwhelming on the ball are actually giving a lovely mottled/heathered effect that is just perfect.

Gravel Grid Socks

In terms of reading, I’ve long since finished Court Lady and Country Wife, and have moved on to Loving, by Henry Green. It’s another 1930s Brit.Lit., though this time set in Ireland during the war. Henry Green has a very peculiar style, but I adored Party-Going when I read it last year, and I already can tell there’s a lot to digest in this one. On a somewhat related note, Green was extremely fond of gerunds – his book titles include Living, Loving, Party-Going, Doting, Nothing, and Concluding. His official biography, written by Jeremy Treglown, was entitled Romancing. An collection of unpublished works was called Surviving. All of this calls attention to the very present nature of time in his writings, which can be unsettling at times. He often jumps around geographical spaces without any indication, and what the reader is left with are the experiences of multiple characters, connected simply by a moment in time. If you don’t mind missing prepositions and filling in the occasional gaps in a narrative, he’s definitely worth picking up. Apparently Loving was voted one of the top British novels of the 20th century.

My goal is to have the first sock done by the end of the week, so that when I head back to Montreal I can use the 6-hour journey to get stuck in to the second one. Does anyone have any tips for excellent sock knitting? I have the basics down pat, but I’d love to know if there are any sock experts who have learned shortcuts or better methods out there.

 

Linking up with Ginny for this week’s yarn-along.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Needles – Gravel Grid

  1. Rain says:

    Oh those are gorgeous! I haven’t attempted a sock yet, so I’m afraid I can’t help you. I just want to say that you made my day by using the work “gerund” I haven’t seen it since my high-school Latin class over 20 years ago! 🙂 I’m very curious about Henry Green’s books. Will look him up. Thanks! And safe travels back to Montreal.

  2. Those are lovely! I adore the grey…

  3. Tracey says:

    I need to find that yarn! It would look great on my guys. I just did my first two needle sock. It went a lot
    quicker than using double point, but you do have to seam .For chunky boot socks I like the pattern, but
    for shoes I think I will go back to double points. I used:http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Start.htm to help me when I first started. Hope it helps.

  4. Cheryl says:

    I’ve knitted too many pairs of socks to count, over the years. Always on double pointed needles. Only tip that jumps to mind, is start the second sock straight away, otherwise you risk second sock syndrome.

    (Noticed you mention Agas in your side bar. I cook on an Aga and wouldn’t be without it.)

Leave a Reply

