The Sun Hat

Well, I’ve finally been able to put together some (somewhat mediocre) pics of my new sun hat, which was quite a find (if I do say so myself).

Drum roll please…

IMG_4208

Ta da! Now, for those of you who may be wondering why I managed to purchase a hat with crystallized fruit on it, I will explain. I spent one morning at a large department store, trying on lovely (similar) hat (minus the fruit) that were each at least $40. On Thursday afternoon, I decided to head to the local thrift store, just for a quiet putter around. What I didn’t realize was that it would be a madhouse because it was 50% off day. While looking, I spotted this hat, way up in a display on the wall that required a ladder to bring down. It took four store employees to accomplish this task, and one very sketchy ladder. But it was love at first sight.

IMG_4207

By the time I got home, the fruit had detached from the hat, but I didn’t mind at all. I had already assumed that the fruit would have to go (at least on the hat), but I quickly managed to find another use for it.

IMG_4195

Now, I know that I probably won’t go outside in this, but doesn’t it look like a lovely ethereal headpiece? If I had managed a nicer photo, I think it would look quite Midsummer-Night’s-Dream-esque. It might not be new, and it might not be posh, but $1 from the thrift store for a sun hat and a fruit headpiece? Definitely the perfect summer score. At this point I’m going to buy a new length of grosgrain ribbon (I think maybe navy), since what’s there is looking a bit sad, but other than that I’m happy to have finally solved my summer sun hat dilemma.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

