On the Needles

I blame Pinterest.

My nearly two week hiatus has been somewhat of a blur – finishing a thesis, cleaning out my library carrel, saying goodbye to friends I’ve known for four years. The end of university is a strange time. Through it all, I spent minutes hours every day on other blogs, Ravelry, and Pinterest, that wonderful new site that never seems to end.

I have been sewing (a new dress, an iPad case for my other half, a collection of headbands), and trying to work out my first ever knitting pattern. It’s still in the prototype stages, unfortunately, and after serious blocking, I realize that the pattern itself needs tweaking. That means starting the knitting itself over again. Sigh…

Yarn Along 04/05/11

In the meantime, however, I’ve decided to start cleaning up my stash and WIPs, along with all the other aspects of my life that need to be re-organized now that this university chapter is about to end. With that, I decided to start on the second leg of my baby leggings project that has been kicking around for quite awhile now, and I also spent part of yesterday cleaning my stash.

The new book I’m reading is Rosamund Lehmann’s Dusty Answer, another 1930s Brit.Lit. set in the English countryside. Lovely descriptions already make it irresistible. This is how it opens:

When Judith was eighteen, she saw that the house next door, empty for years, was getting ready again. Gardeners mowed and mowed, and rolled and rolled the tennis-court; and planted tulips and forget-me-nots in the stone urns that bordered the lawn at the river’s edge.

How could I not pick this one up?

Linking with Ginny for yarn-along. Enjoy Wednesday – looking forward to seeing what everyone else has been up to.

ETA: In light of recent world events, I think this is very relevant and thought provoking. Via Pinterest, naturally.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Needles

  1. what a busy life you have right now! I am interested in this pattern when it is ready… good luck with being back at the drawing board!

  2. Kristi says:

    Congrats on your college time ending! It is so exciting to be moving on. The book sounds lovely-I’m already looking it up on Audible! I love brit lit.

  3. Heidi says:

    What a lovely sounding book – I can definitely see why you had to pick it up.

    Best wishes for this transitional phase of your life. I remember how that time felt for me!

  4. Swanski says:

    Wow you have accomplished quite a bit these weeks! I hope you enjoy finishing up your works in progress!

  5. Lisa says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed by the fact that you have so many projects going on, and you’re making your own pattern! Keep it up! 🙂

  6. accountantgrrl says:

    You’re right. Pinterest is a time suck, but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

