On the Needles

I’m excited to share a little sneak preview of what’s on my needles this week – something that will (fingers crossed) become my first knitting pattern for sale on Ravelry.

Wednesday Yarn-Along - 20/04/11

There isn’t much to see here, but I’ll let it speak for itself as soon as it’s ready. The yarn I’m using is Quince and Co. Lark in Pea Coat, which is lovely and soft.

I’m still reading Denton Welch’s In Youth is Pleasure, which has definitely grown on me this past week. Although very unusual, I find Welch’s language strangely beautiful, in an uncanny way. I found out that Welch’s books have been re-issued over the past few years, which likely means he’ll receive some renewed popularity sometime. Don’t be surprised if he comes up at your next book club – he’s got a great way with words, and if you like Virginia Woolf or Elizabeth Bowen, you might want to give him a try.

If anyone has any experience writing knitting patterns, I would love to know any advice or tips. I’m already preparing myself for the shock of errata, and the meticulous math skills that will need to go into this. But all in all, it feels like a solid idea, and hopefully will work out. It’s exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time.

Have a great Wednesday – once again, I hope the weather is better wherever you are than it is here. Rain and hale don’t make for a fun spring afternoon, but there’s still a lot to be thankful for, like our heat coming back on after a week of below freezing temperatures.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Needles

  1. Tracey says:

    How exciting that you wrote a knitting pattern. Congratulations. I still have so much to learn just knitting.
    My chin dropped when you said you had the heat on…I am melting! It is almost 87 degrees here and humid! I’m trying so hard not to cut the AC on, but I may lose this battle when the Mr. gets home.

  2. Swanski says:

    Congratulations on your first pattern. I bet you are excited!

  3. octoberrose says:

    Beautiful yarn color–and beautiful old book. 🙂 (Quince and Co. is on my “to buy someday” yarn list …)

Leave a Reply

