Another Day, Another Dress

This morning, I finished the dress that I had been thinking about for a long time:

Friday - City Lawn Dress

I spied the cotton floral print at Fabricville weeks ago, and decided that it was love. I didn’t have a dress pattern in mind at the time, but I knew that something good would come of it. I bought 2 1/2 metres, and ended up using part of it to make my linen and floral organizer in February.

Friday - City Lawn dress

In the meantime, I ended up making a couple of other pieces. Yesterday, however, I was determined to make this bit of fabric into a dress. I turned to my usual empire bodice piece (used in nearly every recent dress I’ve sewn), and was able to get two fronts, two backs, and a decently gathered skirt with some strange folding and cutting (definitely not BurdaStyle-approved). In the end, I was left with only the tiniest scraps remaining, which came in handy when I realized that some of my topstitch had gone a bit wonky.

Friday - City Lawn Dress

I decided to sewn a bow embellishment over the flubbed stitches, and I actually really like how it turned out – a little bit pretty, but matching the dress’s style and tone, I think. I now have five or six summer dresses sewn, and plans for at least one more (but the itch to head back to Fabricville is getting stronger…)

I had a really great exam on Wednesday (does anyone ever say that?) and now only have two school-related things to worry about. As a result, there’s a lot of swatching and patterns ideas being thrown around the apartment by yours truly. I have plans for a short cardigan to go on top of all these dress – because those long and drapey pieces we’ve been wearing since September just look so unflattering over a dress! The weather has unfortunately turned way too cold for much more than fantasies about wearing these sorts of summery things now, but I’m convinced that summer is just around the corner.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Day, Another Dress

  1. Tracey says:

    I do envy your sewing skills, the dress is lovely.
    Have a beautiful filled weekend.

Leave a Reply

