Wednesday Morning Yarn-Along

I missed last week’s yarn-along in all the craze of work and studying. And even though I have an exam this afternoon, I’m not going to miss another chance to play along.

Yarn Along - 13/04/11

I’m a bit in-between projects right now. Yesterday I finished the first sock in a pair that I’ve been working on for awhile (LoveSocks, ravelry link here). To be honest, I’m not overly thrilled with them. They’re a bit tight, and I’m starting to doubt all those knitters that say knitted socks are the secret boon of knitting. I haven’t even decided yet if I’m going to knit the second.

So instead, I’m bringing you a swatch. Not the most exciting swatch in the world, but it’s leftover St Denis Nordique that I have from my Sandpiper cowl, and I would love to find a use (excuse?) to go and buy more of it. I’m thinking some sort of shrug, either from this, or from the Quince and Co. Lark that I still have sitting here looking at me sadly. Yes, I will find time and project for all of these things!

In Youth is Pleasure - Denton Welch

Miraculously, and for the first time in months, I’m actually a reading a book for myself! The book is In Youth is Pleasure, by Denton Welch. It’s very strange. Written in the 1940s by a painter who died not long after, it’s the story of a wealthy teenage boy and his family. Lots of weird things have happened so far, but gorgeous descriptions of country homes, hotels, and gardens that make me keep coming back for more.

Have a great yarn-along to everyone that’s participating, and enjoy the spring weather – it may be rainy here, but I imagine a lot of you will get sunshine and warm breezes where you are.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Morning Yarn-Along

  1. Tracey says:

    I love reading older books and have several shelves loaded with books picked up for pennies at thrift stores!
    Your excuse to buy yarn is: for your “stash”, that covers any yarn buying!

  2. I hate to knit socks. Hate. I often get a hankering to do so, knit one, hate it and either end up with one sock, or rip it back. Here’s hoping you make a great decision regarding the pair staring you in the face! OH! And good luck on your exam!

  3. that yarn is gorgeous! i can definitely imagine it as a cowl or something soft to keep you warm.

Leave a Reply

