Jejune Dress – Fail

Sorry to say that my latest experiment, the first attempt at a new dress, is more or less a failure. To be fair, this was only the ‘muslin’ (not literally muslin, but cheap cotton no less). Even so, I had high hopes when it started to shape up and look quite promising.

Jejune Dress

Although I knew it would be a muslin, I decided to spend the extra $1.80 and have bias binding act as a sort of piped border along the collar and armholes. I ended up having just enough left over to hand sew a stripe of the binding across the front bust. It’s a lovely contrasting cream against the soft lavender shade of the dress. With everything looking nice, I was already envisioning myself wearing this over the summer. However, when I attached the back skirt to the bodice and seamed up the sides, I knew that I had made a mistake. The skirt was way too puffy, and the overall look said one thing: jejune. The look of the dress is much more childlike than the one I had in mind. It still has some over points that I’m happy with, and I’m not in any rush to throw it out, but as an overall first attempt, it’s a definite fail.

Jejune Dress

For the second go, I already have some changes in mind that I think will make a big difference. First off, I’m going to seriously reduce the gather on both the outer skirt, as well as the inner lining. In this dress, they both had a width of 1 1/2 metres. Next time, I’m going to reduce the outer to 1m, and the skirt to something even less. It might not even be gathered at all, but become something more like a slip. As well, the ruched detailing on the front spanned too far across the chest. Besides taking this in, I think I will hold off on gathering any part of the front besides nipple to nipple. That way the gather will splay nicely in the front, without adding bulk to the sides (I hope).

While it’s a bummer to spend a couple hours making a dress that doesn’t turn out how you envisioned it, it’s nice to think that a second go will hopefully iron out all the little things wrong with this one. I still love the colour, and the piping, and will maybe get around to wearing this sometime this summer. It’s too much work at this point to take it all apart. Sigh… A for effort, maybe?

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

