Friday Morning – Taking It Slow

Last night I was dressing the current production of The Alchemist that I’ve been helping costume for the past few months. It’s always a fun (but long) night. Dressing rooms to prepare and clean, actors to help, quick changes to worry about, laundry to sort, and lists to compile for the next night. All in all a success, though. Having said that, it’s always nice if you can take it a bit slower the following day, which is exactly what I intend to do.

Friday Morning - Preparation

This past week, we ran out of our usual Kicking Horse coffee (try it if you can afford the hefty price tag – it’s well worth it). However, we also keep a large tin of their espresso beans on hand, and Jake had the idea of just making espressos for the week. I have to admit, it’s been really nice, and not at all fussy. We use a stovetop Bialetti for two people – it’s compact and easy to clean and makes the perfect amount every time.

Friday Morning - Espressos

I also broke down recently and bought myself a new pair of stork embroidery scissors. I’ve been in mourning ever since my first pair went missing in February — it seemed inevitable that they would eventually get lost forever, since I managed to lose them nearly every day that I had them. This time, I’m considering taking a page out of my childhood storybook, The Spoon Necklace. Ok, well maybe not, but at least they might stand a chance of sticking around this time.

Friday Morning - The Knitting Basket

I’ve got a ton of knitty ideas at the moment, but not a whole lot on the needles. I really really want to finish the dresses I’ve been sewing; it seems to go like that with me. Like a pendulum. Back and forth between knitting and sewing, sewing and knitting. I don’t mind – I love finishing pieces from both.

Friday Morning - HBC + iPad

It’s been a long time coming, but I’ve finally managed to take a shot worth posting of my Hudson’s Bay point blanket. I’ve been holding back on being too full on with the HBC – it’s harder to photograph than it seems. You can check out my HBC cardigan on Ravelry here. And yes, that’s a new iPad 2 in the background. The newest tech toy to enter the house, and let me say it has made quite a splash. Lots and lots of apps to explore, though not enough crafty sewing or knitting ones yet in my opinion.

Hope you enjoy winding down the week — this weekend is already promising to be quite exciting (just let’s hope the snow they’re promising holds off!).

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Morning – Taking It Slow

  1. what a beautifully photographed friday morning!

Leave a Reply

