Yarn-Along Wednesday – Another New WIP?!

There must be something wrong with my knitterly brain.

Sandpiper - Beginning

Can I blame Ginny’s yarn-along? The desire to impress any visitors to the Dept. of HHS with something new and fanciful every week?

No.

I don’t think I can. I think the more likely explanation is a lack of self-control, when it comes to all things pertaining to sheep. And if I’m honest with you, I don’t even feel a bit bad this week. That’s because I’m nearly halfway done the Sandpiper cowl by fallmasche on Ravelry, and am completely smitten by all three elements:

Sandpiper - Wednesday morning

The pattern:
Sandpiper (Strandlaeufer) is a simple fair isle cowl. It features three colours of wool, and is knit in the round. I can’t quite remember how I stumbled upon this pattern, but as soon as I found it, I knew I would knit it. The only question was to find the perfect wool. When I went to the local LYS this weekend to take the plunge and buy a complete set of circulars, I of course just had to look around. And of course I secretly knew that I couldn’t resist the St Denis calling to me. When I put these three colours together, I knew we were meant to be, and Sandpiper was a done deal.

Sandpiper - Wool

The yarn:
St Denis Nordique, a sport weight 100% wool made in the USA by a former Quebec woman. I could kiss her for this yarn. It’s spongy and soft, but most of it the colours are simply divine. I’m working in champagne (more of an eggshell off-white) 5816, a soft butter yellow 5850, and blue eggshell 5820.

Sandpiper - Halfway

The needles:
My new HiyaHiya 5″ in a 24″ cable length. So lightweight, so easy to handle. I now am the incredulous owner of every size from 1-8 US, and can’t wait. I’m even tempted to switch all my WIPS to their correct equivalent. Gauge may just go out the window with my newest lovelies…

What I’m reading this week? As usual, too much, and not enough. I’m back to reading Marlowe, because next week the class is putting on scene presentations, and I’ve still got loads to memorize. And in case that isn’t enough, we’re on to Melville in my American Lit. class (not Moby Dick at least – must be thankful for small mercies!), and there are papers to write as well.

I find sometimes that the more I have on my plate, the more often I find myself knitting. Maybe it’s a stress relief thing? Does anyone else have this problem?

Happy Yarn-Along – I can’t wait to see what everyone else is up to this week!

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yarn-Along Wednesday – Another New WIP?!

  1. Tracey says:

    I have not learned to knit fair isle yet, maybe one day. I do like what you have done and I love the color scheme.
    Melville?…Shudder.
    Warmly,
    Tracey

  2. Just gorgeous colors and beautiful knitting.
    Warm wishes, Tonya

  3. Amy V says:

    Just stopping in to say “Hi” as part of Yarn Along.

  4. Swanski says:

    I love your project 🙂 Glad to meet another hiya hiya needle lover. I love knitting with them over and over again!

  5. Genevieve says:

    Beautiful project & it looks so cozy. I’ll have to peek at the hiya needles online.

  6. I am in awe of this cowl! It is truly stunning. Beautiful knitting!

  7. Amy Caroline says:

    So lovely, goodness! I am scared of faireisle!!

  8. CoCo says:

    those colors are great together. can’t wait to see the FO!

Leave a Reply

