Foodie Friday – Dessert Edition

So this week I managed to get a lot done, including some baking….

Afternoon snack

These are the stand-by around here for chocolatey-peanut butter goodness. I used a tip for the first time that I read in The Best of BetterBaking.com, which recommends chilling the dough before baking in, in order to get the fluffy, wrinkled look. This is the silly sort of thing that I always want my cookies to do, and have never achieved. This batch was a definite improvement, though not quite there yet.

All gone

When my snack was complete, I also managed to get a few shots in of the Too Cute to Resist baby leggings that I’ve picked up again, now that I finally have a fourth dpn! I’m really enjoying the feel and smoothness of these bamboo dpns; since I’m in the market for a new set of circs, I might look into what bamboo has to offer. I’m not entirely thrilled with the potential for breakage, but they have a lovely feel to them, even at their discount price. We knit with bamboo needles and bamboo yarn, wear bamboo t-shirts and install bamboo flooring. Is there anything that this plant can’t do?!

Baby Leggings

I hope everyone had a merry St Patrick’s Day — I wore festive colours from head to toe (should have snapped a photo) and celebrated by working on an academic journal for eight hours. Sigh… Happy Friday. Enjoy your weekend, wherever you are and whatever you manage to accomplish!

 

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2-3 cups chocolate chips

Cream together butters and sugar; add eggs and vanilla until just combined. Sift dry ingredients together and mix in batter. Fold in chocolate chips. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375 F; bake for 9-12 minutes. Slam cookie sheets on counter to encourage more wrinkling, if desired. Enjoy!

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

