Yarn Along Wednesday

This week for  Yarn Along with Ginny, I’m happy to say that I have a project that is nearly done (!).

This is the back piece of my Sage Remedy Top, published on Ravelry by Sarah Shepherd. I’m about 70% done now, and excited to wear it. The only drawback is the colour – I love it, but since I ended up buying the wool at two different times, I’ve noticed a slight variation in the tone of the dye lots. When I’m finished, I’ll post a comparison. If it’s fairly obvious, I’ll dye the entire piece (which would be rather sad as I really like white).

On the reading list this week is a book of poetry, David Solway’s Franklin’s Passage. It’s a series of poems on the topic of the lost Franklin Expedition, and just happens to be my field of research. This past week has transpired to be full of academic writing, which I can no longer avoid as it’s March, and my thesis is due in less than a month.

I’m also continuing on with The Scarlet Letter, though with much less enthusiasm. Hawthorne is a little too dense for me at this point, with so many other things on my mind.

Returning to knitting for a moment, I’m excited to say that I recently purchased a full set (sizes 1-15) of bamboo needles online:

I know that others have mentioned the relatively ability of bamboo needles to break at any point, but I really wanted to try them out, so I figured this relatively affordable set would be a nice introduction.

I’m also on the hunt for my first set of interchangeable circulars (this must be some form of spring cleaning – out with all the old needles and in with the new – too bad the weather is not equally cooperative!). I’ve pretty much settled on the Hiya Hiya set, which is more affordable than Addis, but seems to have pleasantly great reviews. I’m also all for supporting a smaller, less-known company, as opposed to just giving in to what the crowd is doing.

If everyone has any advice about interchangeable sets, I would love to hear about them. While I don’t mind splurging for something great, they would have to perform well and stand up over time. Ideas?

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along Wednesday

  1. Tracey says:

    I love bamboo needles. My stitches would fall off of metal needles and I wouldn’t realize it for several rows. I am interested in what you hear about the interchangeable needles as I have been planning on purchasing some also. Your sweater is very pretty.
    Warmly,
    Tracey

  2. Swanski says:

    I love my hiya hiyas 🙂 Just be sure to check for unscrewing every so often. I like how light they feel when knitting. I also have knitpicks interchangeable needles that are also fantastic!

  3. I recently bought some Hiya Hiya circs because I needed a certain size and the Addis were out of stock. The Hiya Hiya needles are fantabulous! I’m using them now on my current project instead of the Addis 😉 And of course I like the less expensive price tag!

  4. My bamboo are my favorite! I love them!

Leave a Reply

