Is Imitation the Best Form of Flattery?

You might recall this little item that I posted about last week:

Well, I know I don’t have any spare change lying around to purchase it. So, inspired by the work of downstairsDesigns, I decided to sew my own paper organizer!

Here is a photo of my version:

For mine, I used a combination of medium-weight linen (in natural) and quilting weight cotton. I didn’t make a tutorial, given that my design is largely based on another’s, but it was a fairly straightforward and quick project (except for the moment when I sewed the lining onto the *outside* of the clutch…that was none too clever).

Overall, I’m super pleased with how this turned out. I even was able to use a vintage embroidery lace bird that I’d had forever in its outer design. I’ve received tons of compliments at school, where I’m using this to hold all things thesis-related. On a related note, I feel completely motivated to work on it now that I have this gorgeous organizer to fit it all in!

 

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Imitation the Best Form of Flattery?

  1. Pingback: Another Day, Another Dress | Department of Household Sciences

Leave a Reply

