On the Hook – Food Rations Rug

Ok.

So it’s not exactly knitting. Or crocheting for that matter.

A blog about such lovely pasttimes as visiting and botany should never find itself speaking about hooking, but here I am doing just that (and no, it’s not what you think).

Food Rations Poster

This week I’ve abandoned all that I’ve been knitting for a more location-appropriate activity: the traditional art of Newfoundland rug-hooking, or, more succintly, hooking. The rug that I’ve envisioned is based on a war rations poster from the US Food Administration, put out in the early 1940s. I first saw a version of it in the April issue of Country Living UK, and was struck by how pertinent the suggestions were for a contemporary household.

On the Hook - Food Rations Poster

My rug-hooking experience is limited, but with more than a handful of talented women and a bevy of rugs in their wake, I think I’m getting the hang of it. I may have underestimated on the size of the overall rug (ie I’ll be squishing the final words in by the skin of my teeth), but regardless, I’m having such a great time hooking, hehe. The best part? It takes almost no wool, so as soon as I’ve finished with one colour, I can use the remainder for a fairly decent-sized project, like a hat or mittens. And at $4.50 a skein for 100% wool, it’s a win-win situation!

On the Hook - Food Rations Poster

I was lucky enough to receive another (!) gift book in the mail this week. This time, it’s William Trevor’s Love and Summer, which I am completely excited to start tonight. I haven’t even finished the first William Trevor I have (it’s on the iPad and I just can’t get into this e-reading), but I already love Trevor and expect to read a lot more of him in the fall. I love finding underappreciated novelists. I can’t speak to Love and Summer yet, but I have no doubt that it’ll be a winner. It was long-listed for the Man Booker last year, so I expect great things.

Have you ever tried rug hooking? Would anyone be interested in a series of tutorials?

Linking with Ginny’s Yarn-along today.

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Hook – Food Rations Rug

  1. What an interesting project. I must look out that edition of CL.
    Don’t know this author at all. I have a few books on the iPhone, and while I don’t mind reading from the screen, I keep forgetting they are there. xx

  2. Rain says:

    Oh I can’t wait to see how it turns out! I used to do a cheezy early 80′s version of rug hooking, but it looks quite different than yours…yours is so excellent! And what a yarn deal! :-)

  3. i cannot wait to see how your rug turns out!!! i remember latch hooking rugs as a kid – the canvas came color coded so you simply had to choose the appropriate color yarn, hook it and keep on going. i’m guessing this is the more sophisticated version of hooking though ;-)

  4. Rosemary says:

    Rug hooking looks so neat! I hadn’t ever seen it except for those cheesy kits I used to do in high school (think Tweety Bird :)), but this looks really different. For some reason I kept seeing/hearing about rug hooking while in Novia Scotia, too.

  5. Sarah Jane says:

    I’m with Amanda. I used to do the color by number version. This is great!

Leave a Reply

