On the Needles – Art Deco Pullover

This week I’m returning to the idea of writing my own pattern. This time, however, I’m just going to take it slowly and not fuss too much about results. Given how cold it can get here and the prevalence of heavy-weight wool, I’ve decided to try my hand at a thick pullover to keep me warm (and possibly stylish) on these blustery nights.

On the Needles - 20/07/11

The pullover is sort of being designed as I go, and hopefully will turn out something like what I have in mind. The design is something I could see being rughooked just as easily as knitted, so if it doesn’t work out in this incarnation, I might get out some burlap and get hooking instead.

I’m finally reading a new book, though this time (and quite unusually for me), it is non-fiction. Black Berry, Sweet Juice was sent to me by its author, Lawrence Hill, who you might know from his bestseller, The Book of Negroes. This memoir is about growing up and understanding what it means to be of mixed race in Canada, something that touches my own identity. I won’t say much more about it here, because I still have a lot to puzzle out, but suffice to say that I’m enjoying it in a difficult sort of way. Hope that’s not too heavy for Yarn-Along with Ginny – what else are you reading/knitting/getting up to these days?

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Needles – Art Deco Pullover

  1. Rain says:

    Love the title of the book and looking forward to hearing more about it. And wow! Can’t wait to see how your warm woolie turns out…I’m so impressed that you’re doing it without a pattern – no matter how it turns out, it will be a treasure!

  2. Kate says:

    Your book sounds interesting. I hope you’ll tell more once you finish. And I can’t wait to see your sweater. I can’t imagine even working on something warm and wooly now but it will be wonderful come winter :)

  3. swanski says:

    The sweater is looking great, I love the color! Looking forward to hearing more about your interesting book.

  4. accountantgrrl says:

    It will be interesting to here more about that book.

    Good luck on the sweater designing. :-)

  5. accountantgrrl says:

    Sorry, that should read “hear”.

Leave a Reply

