On the Needles – Lida Shawl

On the Needles - Lina 6/7/11

My first Newfoundland edition of Ginny‘s weekly yarnalong. And although I’m knitting something I’m excited to show off here, I have to say that I’ve got a lot of other fibre ideas on my mind. The community we’re staying in has some many talented women, and I think I’m quickly being seduced to try my hand at something other than knitting.

However, with the two skeins of Estelle Arequipa that I decided to bring over, I knew I wanted I come up with something lovely. Bristol Ivy’s Lida – published and sold by the fabulous Quince and Co. – caught my eye immediately. Every other shawl I liked seemed to require two different skeins, while this one only used one, and was just too lovely to pass up.

Lida Shawl - First Look

I must admit that I was bit confused by the directions at first – the diagram looks as though you’re knitting from the point down, when actually you’re adding increases that make up the longest side. This is probably a common way of designing a shawl, but since it’s my first one, I actually had no idea and thought I had got it all wrong.

There hasn’t been a great deal of page turning around here lately, unfortunately. I started a novel that I immediately fell in love with last week, but as it was a library book and we were leaving, I had to return it. Jake managed to buy an ebook version for me, but I just can’t get in to reading off the screen (though perhaps his iPad might work – he doesn’t arrive here until Saturday). In the meantime, I’m trying to find time to read Francine Prose’s Reading like a Writer, which is a booklover’s dream. It takes on literature from an anti-academic, pro-author slant, and it’s come at just the right time, I think.

What stitches are you knitting and pages are you turning this week?

About Meredith

Just another twenty-something crafter, with a penchant for delicious home cooking, the English countryside, and knitting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Needles – Lida Shawl

  1. Rain says:

    What a gorgeous colour that yarn is! I kick around getting a screen for books, but just can’t imagine using it. Still, for travel, it would be most handy.

  2. Kate says:

    Your shawl is lovely! The color is beautiful :)
    I have a nook and I love it – it’s a screen but not lit like a computer so it is actually like reading off paper. And it is wonderful for travel.

  3. accountantgrrl says:

    That’s a beautiful shawl.

    Hey, I just noticed when I looked at your Rav page that we have the exact same birthday. Howdy, fellow Leo!

  4. swanski says:

    Beautiful beautiful shade of blue! The ripping back in never fun but it is fun when you get it right, right?

  5. Rosemary says:

    I’ve been meaning to read the Francine Prose book for a while. I heard her speak at a conference a few years ago. (I just love that her last name is “Prose.” :) )

    And love the blue!

Leave a Reply

